dan1st
dan1st5mo ago

Retroactive consent/indexing

I realized that the bot is indexing posts created before the bot was added to the server. I assume this only applies to users that consented after the bot has been added?
Solution:
That question will be stored in our database, but not displayed until the user provides consent
Jump to solution
5 Replies
Rhys
Rhys5mo ago
It stores all of the messages from indexed channels and then shows them on the site after a user has provided consent - doing a reindex after users have provided consent to display messages is unfortunately too slow so we have to store the messages from the channel If you only want posts after the bot has been added to be indexed, I’d recommend making a new channel for that Sorry if that behavior wasn’t clear, I’ll update the onboarding to clarify it
dan1st
dan1st5mo ago
No I wanted to know what happens in the following case - Bot is not in the server - User asks a question - Bot is added to the server - The channel with the question is configured to be indexed
Solution
Rhys
Rhys5mo ago
That question will be stored in our database, but not displayed until the user provides consent
Rhys
Rhys5mo ago
So if that user only asked one time then it won’t ever be displayed but it will be stored - it may also show up if you’re signed in on the site and in the same server
dan1st
dan1st5mo ago
ah ok yeah I was only testing with my main account and saw that old messages are indexed